BREATHE Members & Trainees Receive APS Awards at EB 2021

Experimental Biology (EB) is the annual meeting of five societies that explores the latest research in anatomy, biochemistry and molecular biology, investigative pathology, pharmacology, and physiology. This international meeting is the highlight of the year for many BREATHE researchers and, despite being virtual this year, EB2021 was no exception. During this week-long event featuring plenary lectures, workshops, symposia, poster presentations, on-site career services and more, BREATHE members and trainees were recognized across the board by the American Physiological Society, and the Respiration Section in particular, for their excellence in the field.

From left to right: Scott Powers, PhD; Erica Levitt, PhD; Sabhya Rana, PhD; Jayakrishnan Nair, PT, PhD; Arash Tadjalli, PhD

Dr. Scott Powers, Distinguished Professor of Applied Physiology & Kinesiology and BREATHE member and Training Program mentor, received the Bodil M. Schmidt-Nielsen Distinguished Mentor and Scientist Award, which honors outstanding contributions to physiological research and demonstrated dedication and commitment to excellence in the training of young physiologists. Dr. Erica Levitt, Assistant Professor of Pharmacology and Therapeutics and BREATHE Steering Committee member and Training Program mentor, received the APS Respiration Section New Investigator Award, which recognizes an outstanding investigator in the early stages of their career.

The APS Respiration Section includes my scientific mentors and peers, whom I respect very much. I am honored to have been embraced by this community with this award as an emerging young investigator within the field.

Dr. Erica Levitt, APS Respiration Section New Investigator Awardee

BREATHE trainees were also lauded during EB2021 for their accomplishments and commitment to research. Dr. Arash Tadjalli, Biological Scientist in Pharmacology and Therapeutics and former Postdoctoral Associate in the Mitchell Lab, was awarded the Respiration Section Outstanding Trainee Award, which recognizes exceptional postdoctoral trainees who have made meritorious contributions to the Respiration Section. Dr. Sabhya Rana, Postdoctoral Fellow in the Fuller Lab, and Dr. Jayakrishnan Nair, Postdoctoral Associate in the Mitchell Lab, both received the APS Respiration Section Research Recognition Award, which acknowledges outstanding research by graduate students and postdoctoral fellows who present a first-author abstract at EB. Finally, Dr. Rana was also awarded the inaugural Physiological Reports Respiration Award, which was instituted this year to recognize the trainee with the highest-scoring abstract.

I am incredibly humbled to be included in this brilliant group of scientists-in-training that received the research recognition award this year. This fuels my motivation to continue working hard and hopefully contributing meaningfully to our field’s body of work.

Dr. Sabhya Rana, APS Respiration Section Research Recognition & Physiological Reports Respiration Awardee

Congratulations to these deserving BREATHE members and trainees!