BREATHE at APS Annual Meeting

BREATHE members and trainees were in full force at the first American Physiological Society in-person annual meeting in two years. Beyond presenting nearly 30 posters and 8 oral presentations, BREATHE helped sponsor the Control of Breathing Mixer: Hot Topics in Respiratory Control, organized the Experimental Biology Trainee Highlights Breakfast, and hosted an informal Respiration Section social with over 100 attendees. Clearly, we had an outsized presence at this annual gathering of physiologists from across the world! Four of our members/trainees also garnered awards for their work:

Dr. Leah Reznikov, BREATHE Steering Committee member, received the Giles F. Filley Memorial Award for Excellence in Respiratory Physiology & Medicine as a tribute to her innovative research in how the nervous system affects the airway. Dr. Reznikov reflects, “As a postdoc, I made a big leap in my research and began studying the airway after graduate training in neurosciences. Eventually I merged the two research interests and have been working passionately towards understanding how the nervous system influences airway diseases like asthma and cystic fibrosis. Having those efforts recognized is a testament to the excellent mentors, colleagues, advocates, and trainees that I’ve been fortunate to work with throughout my career. I’m incredibly thankful.”

Dr. Erica Levitt, BREATHE Steering Committee member, received the ASPET Neuropharmacology Early Career Award in recognition of her highly impactful research on the mechanisms of opioid-induced respiratory depression in the Kölliker-Fuse nucleus as well as her outstanding record of opioid receptor scholarship and strong commitment to mentoring and service. In her gracious acceptance speech, Dr. Levitt thanked “all my mentors and colleagues at the University of Michigan, Oregon Health and Science University and the University of Florida and BREATHE Center for enabling my success and receipt of this award.

Dr. Alex Marciante, BREATHE T32 postdoc trainee (Mitchell Lab), received the Respiration Section Research Recognition Award for her outstanding first-author abstract, “Aging Impairs Phrenic Long-Term Facilitation in Rats by an Adenosine-Dependent Mechanism.” Dr. Marciante notes, “it is an honor to be among those selected to receive this year’s Research Recognition Award. I am truly grateful to be a ‘BREATHEr’, and inspired to continue working hard in an impactful and meaningful way.

Alyssa Mickle, BREATHE predoc trainee, received the Stimulating Peripheral Activity to Relieve Conditions (SPARC) Program’s Emerging Scientist Award for her work focused on advancing the neuromodulation field. She presented her new research with Dr. Erica Dale: “Cervical afferents are necessary for closed-loop epidural stimulation-induced respiratory neuroplasticity.” Dr. Dale’s pride in her mentee is evident: “Alyssa’s contributions to the lab have already been substantial, which was reflected in her receiving this award and giving her first presentation at her very first national conference! It’s a testament to the collaborative, mentoring mentality of the BREATHE Center, as Alyssa is already off and running in our field!”

Congratulations to all awardees, presenters, and organizers! Get a glimpse into BREATHE at APS in our photo gallery below.